Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

NZ Swimming Trust announces 2016 Grant Recipients

The New Zealand Swimming Trust is pleased to announce the grant recipients for 2016.

The New Zealand Swimming Trust and the New Zealand Alumni are one body aimed at supporting the development of the sport.

This year saw a significant increase in the number of applicants and the Trustees are pleased to be able to advise that approved payments exceeded $55,000.

This is an all-time high and has been made possible with the support of the Brian Perry Charitable Trustand proceeds from the Legends Relay. Payments also include a special grant to members of the Olympic Team who do not receive other support for the Rio build up.

Anyone with an interest in the sport can join the Alumni, especially ex swimmers who have had enjoyment from the sport. Contact secretary@newzealandswimmingtrust.org.nz

2016 Grant Recipients:

Emerging Swimmer Awards: Wilrich Coetzee (National & Harlequins), Sam McKenzie (Makos), Chelsey Edwards (All Stars) and Eliot London-Moore (AquaKnights).

Rio Build Up Grant: Bradlee Ashby (Fairfield), Helena Gasson (North Shore), Matthew Hutchins (Wharenui), Corey Main (Howick Pakuranga), Emma Robinson (Capital), Glenn Snyders (North Shore), Matthew Stanley (Matamata).

Successful Scholarship Applicants: Bobbi Gichard (Howick Pakuranga), Ewan Jackson (Howick Pakuranga), George Schroder (Hokitika), Mario Koenigperger (Howick Pakuranga), Julian Layton (Greendale), Shaun Burnett (North Shore), Monique King (North Shore), Samantha Lee (Capital), Mya Rasmussen (Kiwi West), Cornielle Coetzee (North Shore), Bayley Main (Howick Pakuranga), Annabelle Paterson (United), Jacob Garrod (North Shore), Matthew Hyde (Matamata), Jackson Cropp (North Shore), Bronagh Ryan (Porirua), David van der Star (Coast), Emily  Rennell (Jasi), Jacey Cropp (North Shore). Kane Radford (Rotorua), Philip Ryan (Waterhole), Jackson Dawson (Waterhole), Matthew Scott (Enterprise), Claudia Ashby (Fairfield), Charlotte Webby (Aquabladz New Plymouth).

CAPTION: Wilrich Coetzee wins NZST Emerging Swimmer of the Year at the 2016 Swimming New Zealand Awards Dinner.