Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

Swimming New Zealand Awards and Honours Nominations

The Awards Committee has the responsibility for evaluating nominations for Life Membership, Honours and Service Awards and making recommendations for awarding them.


How to Nominate:

Nominations for Service & Honours Awards may be made by a Regional Association, or a member club. Life Membership nominations can only be made by Regional Associations.

Nominations must be made using the appropriate nomination forms, shall set out the background of the nominee in support of such nomination, please download and complete the relevant form below. Nominations must be received by Swimming New Zealand by 31 July 2021 at 11.59pm. Nominations should be sent to awards@swimming.org.nz.

Please note that previously unsuccessful nominations should be updated before re-submission. 


Service Award


Honours Award


Life Membership


Nominations Criteria:

Service Award

Active service of an outstanding nature to the sport for a period of not less than twelve years. The Honours and Awards Committee may consider a lesser period where service has been of an exceptional level for Swimming NZ.

Honours Award

For a period of ten years' service following receipt of a Service Award, providing the person has continued to provide a continuation of outstanding service to the sport. The Honours and Awards Committee may consider a lesser period where service has been of an exception level to Swimming NZ.

Life Membership

The highest award Swimming NZ can bestow on an individual for service to the sport.

Criteria for Life Membership includes but are not limited to the following:

  • The service must be diligent, extraordinary and the applicant's achievements must be above and beyond what could reasonably be expected within the swimming community.
  • Active contribution to the wider swimming community in various roles.
  • The nominee's service shall be recognised as having made a significant impact to the sport of swimming in New Zealand.
  • Number of years' service is not a qualification alone for the Award.